What are the penalties for a hit and run in Louisiana?

On Behalf of | Sep 11, 2017 | Car Accidents

Any accident scenario is horrible, but when an accident is a hit and run, it gets even worse. If you have been involved in such an accident situation, you may want to learn more about what penalties you may face as a result. Under the state law, the Louisiana State Legislature defines a hit and run as failing to stop and stay at the scene of an accident. It does not matter if you caused the accident or not. If you leave the scene before giving your identification information to other drivers, reporting the accident to law enforcement and ensuring help is being given to anyone injured, then you are at risk of being charged with a hit and run.

The impact of the charge depends largely on the injuries to people involved. If nobody is killed or seriously injured, the charge will be less severe and carry a possible maximum penalty of six months in jail and/or a $500 fine. When a death or serious injury occurs, the charges and penalties are more severe. The conditions of the accident and your past driving record will determine your maximum penalties.

The general maximum penalties are 10 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. However, if you have previous convictions for DUI, vehicular homicide or vehicular negligence and knew someone was seriously injured or dead when you left the scene of the accident, then you will face a minimum of five years in prison with a possible maximum sentence of 25 years. In addition, you will face up to a $5,000 fine. This information is only intended to educate and should not be interpreted as legal advice.

Rated By Super Lawyers | Rising Stars | Taylor Hale | SuperLawyers.com
The National Trial Lawyers | Top 40 Under 40
Top Lawyers of Acadiana | Acadiana Profile Magazine | 2019

RSS Feed

FindLaw Network